Bedford Borough Council logo Central Bedfordshire Council logo

The Virtual Library

Follow us on Pinterest Follow us on Twitter Contact us on Facebook Home Page What's On Contact Us Help

General | Book Awards | Books Online | Dictionaries | Free e-Books | Genres | National Literacy Organisations | Poetry | Shakespeare | Writers and Writing

Book Awards

Arthur C Clarke Award
The Arthur C Clarke Award is the UK's premier prize for science fiction literature.

Baillie Gifford Prize
The UK's most prestigious non-fiction award. The prize aims to reward the best of non-fiction and is open to authors of all non-fiction books in the areas of current affairs, history, politics, science, sport, travel, biography autobiography and the arts.

Booker Prizes
The Booker Prize and the Booker International Prize reward the best fiction in any year, whether written originally in or translated into English, and published in the UK or Ireland.

Prizes and Awards supported by Booktrust promote books to a wide audience, bringing new books to attention and providing access points for readers to engage with different types of books.

British Science Fiction Association Awards
The BSFA Awards are awarded each year to the best novel, short fiction, artwork and work of non-Fiction as voted for by the members of the British Science Fiction Association.

Caine Prize for African Writing
The Caine Prize for African Writing is a literature prize awarded to an African writer of a short story published in English, to encourage and highlight the richness and diversity of African writing by bringing it to a wider audience internationally.

CILIP Carnegie and Kate Greenaway Children's Book Awards
The Carnegie medal is awarded by children's librarians for an outstanding book for children and young people. The Kate Greenaway Medal is awarded for an outstanding book in terms of illustration.

Costa Book Awards
The Costa Book Awards honour some of the most outstanding books of the year written by authors based in the UK and Ireland. There are five categories - First Novel, Novel, Biography, Poetry and Children’s Book - with one of the five winners chosen as Book of the Year.

Dagger Awards
The Crime Writers Association Daggers have been synonymous with quality crime writing for over fifty years. The Dagger in the Library is a prize for a body of work by a crime writer that users of libraries particularly admire.

Hugo Awards
The Hugo Awards, given annually since 1955, are science fiction's most prestigious award.

Nobel Prize in Literature
Official site of the Nobel Prize in Literature, awarded each year to 'the person who shall have produced in the field of literature the most outstanding work in an ideal direction'.

People's Book Prize
The People's Book Prize is a national competition aimed at finding, supporting and promoting new and undiscovered works.

Pulitzer Prizes
The Pulitzer Prize is an award for achievements in newspaper, magazine and online journalism, literature, and musical composition in the United States.

Royal Society Insight Investment Science Book Prize
Founded in 1988 (and previously known under various banners including the Royal Society Prize for Science Books, Aventis Prize and Rhône-Poulenc Prize, and most recently, The Royal Society Winton Prize for Science Books), the Royal Society Insight Investment Science Book Prize has championed outstanding popular science writing for over 30 years.

Royal Society of Literature
Through grants and prizes, the RSL invests in authors both established and emerging, especially at difficult stages of their careers.

William Hill Sports Book of the Year
Awarded to the best sports book published in the year preceding the year in which the prize is awarded.

Women's Prize for Fiction
The Women’s Prize for Fiction is the UK’s most prestigious annual book award for fiction written by a woman.

Weblinks Home